Skip to the news
THETICKER.BY AVENUE 1

Coaching moves. Money.
The bigger picture.

Explore coach dossiers on Avenue 1 ↗
← The wire

Follow the money.

Contracts, compensation, and the cost of a coaching move. Every figure has a source, a timeframe, and context.

All figures in USD. Estimates are labeled. Undisclosed terms stay undisclosed. Records describe the agreement or report at the date shown.

ExtensionArizona✓ Confirmed

Desireé Reed-Francois — Extension ↗

ABOR unanimously approved a University of Arizona athletics director contract extension for Desireé Reed-Francois through March 2, 2032 (UA News; Arizona Daily Star). Current pay is $1.35M in 2026-27 with scheduled $50k escalators to $1.4M in 2027-28 and $1.6M in 2031-32; UA Foundation contributes $250k annually. Amendment accelerates retention bonuses; AD-side buyout is $800k for 2027-28 declining to $125k by 2030-31; performance bonuses capped at $250k. School without-cause separation pays remaining base salary (ex-Foundation) through term end.

Contract term: Start not disclosed — Mar 2, 2032

Annual compensation$1,350,0002026 fiscal year · As of 2026-10-01

2026-27 compensation $1.35M; includes scheduled structure with $250k annual UA Foundation contribution toward pay (Arizona Daily Star).

Annual compensation$1,400,0002027 fiscal year · As of 2026-10-01

2027-28 compensation $1.4M under continuing $50k annual escalators when amendment kicks in next March (Arizona Daily Star).

Annual compensation$1,600,0002031 fiscal year · As of 2026-10-01

Compensation reaches $1.6M in 2031-32 under scheduled escalators through new term end March 2, 2032 (Arizona Daily Star).

Buyout owed by coach$800,000As of 2027-07-01

AD-side buyout $800,000 for the 2027-28 period under the amendment (was previously scheduled to fall to $250k); declines annually to $125k by 2030-31 (Arizona Daily Star).

Maximum bonus$250,0002026 fiscal year · As of 2026-10-01

Performance bonuses capped at $250,000; amendment adds up to $10k per non-revenue team NCAA postseason appearance and $10k for Big 12 Commissioner's Cup (Arizona Daily Star).

Buyout owed by schoolUndisclosedAs of 2026-10-01

If UA fires without cause: owes remaining base salary through contract end (compensation less $250k annual Foundation portion) plus incentives earned to departure date; no single fixed dollar total published (Arizona Daily Star).

Sources, context & sharing →
ExtensionAlabama↗ Reported

Greg Byrne — Extension ↗

UA System Compensation Committee on Sept. 28, 2026 approved a new athletics director contract for Greg Byrne through June 30, 2033 at $2.675 million per year, extending him two years past his prior deal through June 2031 (about $2.09M annually under that contract). Buyout and other layered terms were not detailed in initial reporting.

Contract term: Start not disclosed — Jun 30, 2033

Annual compensation$2,675,0002026 fiscal year · As of 2026-09-28

Annual pay under new AD contract approved by UA Compensation Committee; runs through June 30, 2033 per al.com.

Sources, context & sharing →
ExtensionNorthwestern✓ Confirmed

David Braun — Extension ↗

Northwestern Athletics announced Sept. 17, 2026 that David Braun agreed to a contract extension through the 2031 season (three years beyond his prior deal through 2028). Dollar terms are not publicly disclosed; ESPN's Pete Thamel reported the extension includes a significant raise.

Annual compensationUndisclosed2031 season

Extension runs through the 2031 season per official Northwestern Athletics release; dollar amounts not publicly disclosed. ESPN sources say the deal includes a significant raise.

Sources, context & sharing →
ExtensionOklahoma↗ Reported

Brent Venables — Extension ↗

OU Board of Regents on Sept. 15, 2026 approved Brent Venables' six-year, $63 million contract extension through Jan. 31, 2032 (about $10.5 million annually on average). He will make $10 million in 2026, the first year of the deal. AD Roger Denny did not disclose buyout details. Sources are reporting only (no official athletics release URL).

Contract term: Start not disclosed — Jan 31, 2032

Annual compensation$10,000,0002026 calendar year

First year of the extension; $10 million in calendar 2026 per OU Daily.

Sources, context & sharing →
BuyoutFlorida State↗ Reported

Mike Norvell — Buyout ↗

USA TODAY Sports, citing contract terms it obtained, reported that if Florida State fires Mike Norvell on Dec. 1, 2026, the university would owe a $46.7 million buyout. His deal runs through the 2031 season. Other mid-season 2026 estimates around $50–51M depending on timing are noted in coverage but not posted here as separate exact terms.

Buyout owed by schoolEst. $46,700,000As of 2026-12-01

If fired on Dec. 1, 2026, owed about $46.7 million per USA TODAY Sports citing contract terms; deal runs through the 2031 season.

Sources, context & sharing →
BuyoutClemson↗ Reported

Dabo Swinney — Buyout ↗

CBS Sports reported that firing Dabo Swinney without cause in calendar 2026 would cost Clemson a flat $57 million buyout, payable with no mitigation/offset if he takes another job. Waiting until 2027 raises the obligation to remaining total compensation of about $60 million. Coverage cites contract/term-sheet reporting including TigerNet PDF.

Buyout owed by school$57,000,000As of 2026-01-01

Fired without cause in calendar 2026; flat $57M buyout; payable in full or over remaining term; no mitigation/offset if he takes another job (CBS Sports).

Buyout owed by school$60,000,000As of 2027-01-01

If fired starting in 2027, buyout becomes remaining total compensation of $60 million per CBS Sports (higher than the 2026 flat-rate figure).

Sources, context & sharing →
Staff salary poolGeorgia Tech↗ Reported

Georgia Tech — Staff salary pool ↗

AJC open-records reporting on Georgia Tech's Dec. 3, 2025 Brent Key extension amendment: the school committed an additional $2 million for assistant coaches and support personnel staffing budget (program staff pool, not an individual coach salary).

Assistant salary pool$2,000,0002026 calendar year

Additional $2 million committed for assistant coaches and support personnel as part of the Key extension amendment per AJC.

Sources, context & sharing →
ExtensionGeorgia Tech↗ Reported

Brent Key — Extension ↗

AJC open-records reporting on Brent Key's Dec. 3, 2025 Georgia Tech extension: base salary rises to $6.15 million annually through 2030. The amendment also resets coach-side buyouts that decline by calendar year if Key leaves ($8M in 2026 down to $2M in 2030) and sets school-side separation at 75% of remaining base/supplemental plus earned auto-extension compensation (no single fixed school buyout dollar amount posted). Auto win-total extensions and layered incentives are noted in the article but not itemized here as separate metrics.

Contract term: Start not disclosed — Dec 31, 2030

Annual compensation$6,150,0002026 calendar year

Base salary increased to $6.15 million annually through 2030 per AJC contract amendment obtained via open records.

Buyout owed by coach$8,000,000As of 2026-01-01

If Key leaves Georgia Tech before the deal expires; buyout owed by coach declines by year ($8M in 2026).

Buyout owed by coach$6,000,000As of 2027-01-01

If Key leaves in 2027; coach-side buyout $6 million per AJC.

Buyout owed by coach$5,000,000As of 2028-01-01

If Key leaves in 2028; coach-side buyout $5 million per AJC.

Buyout owed by coach$3,000,000As of 2029-01-01

If Key leaves in 2029; coach-side buyout $3 million per AJC.

Buyout owed by coach$2,000,000As of 2030-01-01

If Key leaves in 2030 before expiry; coach-side buyout $2 million per AJC.

Buyout owed by schoolUndisclosedAs of 2026-01-01

If Georgia Tech terminates without cause: owes 75% of remaining base salary and supplemental compensation plus any earned automatic-extension compensation (AJC); no single fixed dollar total published.

Sources, context & sharing →

The reporting behind the numbers

BYU lands largest gift in athletics history from PV3 Enterprises; stadium playing surface becomes PV3 Field ↗

BYU announced Oct. 9 a long-term partnership with Utah-based PV3 Enterprises that the school calls the largest philanthropic commitment in BYU Athletics history. The deal includes a "substantial" investment in football facilities and a custom NIL program with deals for more than 40 current BYU athletes, mostly endorsements with PV3-owned businesses. As part of the deal, the playing surface at LaVell Edwards Stadium will be named PV3 Field; the stadium keeps its name. BYU and PV3 did not disclose the dollar value. Head coach Kalani Sitake said PV3 offers players "a transformational opportunity ... not just transactional deals."

Utah and Crimson Brand Partners plan $26M Rice-Eccles Stadium suite and club renovation ↗

The University of Utah and its new commercial company, Crimson Brand Partners, are planning a $26 million renovation of Rice-Eccles Stadium, The Salt Lake Tribune reported, citing project documents. The plan would refresh suites on the West Tower’s fourth and fifth levels, add six suites and a club on the sixth level, and turn a storage space in the northeast corner into a field-level “Corner Field Club” that could become a second place to buy alcohol at Utah games. The university has started soliciting architects and engineers. If the project is approved, the first phase would finish in August 2027, and more phases could follow. Utah athletics and the university declined to comment to the Tribune.

Ole Miss and Adidas announce 7-year apparel partnership beginning July 2027 ↗

Ole Miss Athletics and adidas officially announced a seven-year partnership that makes adidas the Rebels’ footwear, uniform, apparel, and sideline partner beginning July 1, 2027, and running through June 2034, ending Nike’s relationship with the school that dates to 1999 when the current Nike deal expires in June 2027. Athletic director Keith Carter said the deal includes increased NIL opportunities and that adidas “understands and respects” Ole Miss’s colors, marks, and uniforms; adidas North America president John Miller called Ole Miss an “ascendant SEC program.” The school did not release financial terms. Earlier reporting from On3’s Brett McMurphy had put the package at more than $20 million annually, with Adidas NIL support described as far exceeding Nike’s prior Ole Miss NIL standard.

Rice renames football venue First Community Stadium in 20-year naming deal ↗

Rice University and Houston-based First Community Credit Union announced a 20-year football stadium naming-rights and campus collaboration agreement, with Rice Stadium becoming First Community Stadium beginning with the Oct. 3 home game against UTSA. Interim AD Eric George said the partnership supports athletics competitiveness and student career development alongside the Gateway Project stadium renovation; First Community becomes the official financial institution of Rice Football, Rice Athletics, and the Association of Rice Alumni and will add financial literacy, internships, and campus banking programs. Financial terms were not disclosed.

ABOR approves Desireé Reed-Francois Arizona AD extension through March 2032 ↗

The Arizona Board of Regents on Thursday unanimously approved a contract extension for University of Arizona athletics director Desireé Reed-Francois through March 2, 2032, confirmed by University of Arizona News and Arizona Daily Star reporting. UA describes it as a five-year deal; Star reporting frames it as a three-year first amendment to her 2024 contract. She is earning $1.35 million in 2026-27, with already-scheduled $50,000 annual escalators continuing to $1.4 million in 2027-28 and $1.6 million in 2031-32; the UA Foundation pays $250,000 annually toward compensation. The amendment accelerates retention bonuses and sets her 2027-28 buyout at $800,000 (declining to $125,000 by 2030-31), while performance bonuses are capped at $250,000 with added postseason and Big 12 Commissioner’s Cup incentives.

All money coverage →